A lil glimpse..

A few weeks ago, I was talking with my group of fellow CDMX Fulbrighters and my mentor about our initial experiences here, and observations about the city. I’ve decided to  use some of my thoughts from that conversation to paint a picture for you of where I’m living.

The subway (el metro). This city has an incredibly efficient subway system, and it certainly puts NYC’s to shame. I have never had to wait for more than five minutes for a train, and when I do wait five minutes it’s a slow day. The downside to the metro is the amount of people that live in this city, and how crowded the cars and the stations are. Think about our high school experiences on the 1 train riding from Columbus Circle to 66th street- Lincoln Center (never worth the stress, so walkable). Anyways , el metro en la CDMX feels like that. Amost all the time. TEEMING.

What particularly struck me though, more than the crowds, was the women’s-only car on every train. On every platform there is a sign that reads “Solo mujeres y menores de 12 años” or “only women and kids younger than 12 years old”. I had read about the system before coming here, but it was still an adjustment after having ridden in essentially gender neutral cars my whole life in New York. As a lady that feels more naturally comfortable around ladies, I always make a bee-line for the women’s car.  There have been a few instances where the train has approached the station as I reach the platform, and I hit panic mode– and literally RUN down the platform to the ladies car. It’s a sight to see. Like in other cities, this women’s only car aims to decrease the instances of sexual harassment and assault that occur in subway cars. The intention is there. However, it’s scary to think that separating women from men is the only way to fix this issue. It suggests a inherency to this behavior … like, well, men are going to harass women, and that is that. Men are naturally sexual predators, so let’s just create a separate car for women. That kind of normalcy and complacency with regard to sexual assault is the most scary. It puts a blanket over the real issue, stifles discourse, and hinders more nuanced solutions.  There’s also a weird like paternal protectiveness about the policy that frustrates me. I see  the male police officers monitoring the women’s section .. and I’m like how about instead of trying to protect me (which only normalizes this violence and further ingrains these gender roles of protector and vulnerable ladies), you create convos with your buddies to end the cycle???

I also feel like women’s only spaces can cause violence towards others who may not fit perfectly into that category, nor feel secure in a co-ed heavily masculine car. AND instead of actually putting an end to sexual harassment, officials are only perpetuating the cycle by suggesting to young boys that yes, when they’re under 12 they can be in the women’s car…  but once they reach a certain age they won’t be able to control their urges towards women, and will be likely to harass one woman or another. Government officials themselves are creating this harmful expectation!! I frequently see little boys on the women’s car with their mother and I’m like aghhh… Okay, perdóname. That was a mish mosh of thoughts!! They’ve been in my head, but I haven’t been able to get them on paper. I’ve been trying to work through them! I love you, Emma.

.

Leave a comment